Property transfer tax is an assessment charged by both the State of Michigan and the individual county. When you transfer real estate, they charge a fee as a percentage of the sales price. The seller is responsible for this fee unless it is otherwise agreed to be paid by the buyer. This fee is reported on a document called a "Real Estate Transfer Valuation Affidavit".
The tool will output the county tax, state tax and total tax due on sale.
Computing real estate transfer tax is done in increments of $500. The state charges $3.75 for each increment and the county charges $.55 (which an be up to $.75 as authorized by the county board of commissioners with a population more than 2,000,000 or more). These combined represents the total tax obligation. The Michigan legislation states:
Beginning on January 1, 1995, except as otherwise provided in this section, the tax imposed under sections 3 and 4 is levied at the rate of $3.75 for each $500.00 or fraction of $500.00 of the total value of the property being transferred. (Read more at STATE REAL ESTATE TRANSFER TAX ACT - MCL 207.525 Sec. 5 (Act 330 of 1993) - State)
The county tax is calculated in the same method but at a rate of 55 cents per $500. A rate up to 75 cents per $500 is allowed if the county's population is more than 2 million (Read more at REAL ESTATE TRANSFER TAX - MCL 207.504 Sec. 4 (Act 134 of 1966) - County).
NOTE: This tool is intended to be used for illustrative purposes only. Estimates are not guaranteed and may be different based on your individual situation. Riverbank Finance LLC does not provide tax or legal advice. It is recommended that you consult with a tax attorney for advice on your situation.